The Nihilist Spasm Band

>> Wednesday, July 2, 2008

"The NSB was formed in 1965 by a group of people who enjoyed music and wanted to play in a band. There was no desire to learn to play traditional instruments so kazoos were bought and assorted noise makers modified or built from scratch. The band started playing regularly every Monday night in 1966 and has just carried on .The personal has stayed the same. John Boyle (artist) kazoo and drums, John Clement (MD) guitar and drums, Bill Exley (geezer/latinist) vocals, Murray Favro (artist) guitar and Art Pratten (pensioner/gentleman of leisure) Pratt-a-various and Waterpipe. Greg Curnoe (deceased), Hugh McIntyre (deceased) and Archie Leitch (permanently retired) play less often."

For serious, these old dudes can make some serious noise shit, check out this video of them on a Japanese TV show during their tour:

And with that here is their record "No Record" (click the picture btw)

1 Destroy The Nations
2 When In London Sleep At The York Hotel
3 The Byron Bog
4 Dog Face Man
5 Oh Brian Dibb
6 Destroy The Nations Again


orfee July 6, 2008 at 2:54 PM  

These guys are from somewhere in Ontario, Canada. Some have credited them as the "fathers of noise bands".
They also played at the FIMAV last year.

Post a Comment