Violent Onsen Geisha - The Midnight Gambler

>> Saturday, December 1, 2007

Violent Onsen Geisha is a Japanese noise music group, distinctive among many noise acts for frequently displaying a bizarre, sarcastic, and mischievous sense of humor. The group is essentially the solo project of Nakahara Masaya, though early in the group's history Nakahara fabricated a story, for years related as fact in the music press in Japan, that the group had at one time had several other members who died. Such conceptual conceits are common in Nakahara's work and public persona. A typical Violent Onsen Geisha album may contain music done in more conventional musical styles such as disco and hip hop, field recordings, and appropriated or "found" music, in addition to (or even instead of) straight-ahead noise. Midnight Gambler is one of his newer works that was released in 1996.
1. Untitled (22:15)
2. Untitled (0:28)
3. Untitled (4:42)
4. Untitled (16:10)
5. Untitled (0:22)
6. Untitled (0:33)
7. Untitled (1:35)
8. Untitled (4:04)
9. Untitled (4:05)
10. Untitled (6:30)
11. Untitled (2:58)
12. Untitled (8:10)

Post a Comment